Awards and Honors

Siegfried Glenzer


2013 Ernest Orlando Lawrence Award

for his work advancing fusion and plasma sciences



2003 John Dawson Award for Excellence in Plasma Physics

Citation: "For elegant diagnostics using collective Thomson scattering together with x-ray spectroscopy which greatly advanced the understanding of the complex plasma environment in laser driven hohlraums used in inertial confinement fusion."


Paulo Alves

Gulbenkian Foundation

2013 Gulbenkian Prize for Stimulus to Scientific Research

for the research proposal on Ab initio studies of nonlinear electromagnetic metamaterials and plasmonics


Frederico Fiúza


2018 Thomas H. Stix Award

for Outstanding Early Career Contributions to Plasma Physics Research


DOE Office of Science

2016 Advanced Scientific Computing Research (ASCR) Leadership Computing Challenge

60,000,000 processor hours for his proposal Ab initio modeling of the dynamical stability of HED plasmas: from fusion to astrophysics


European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division

2013 European Physical Society Plasma Physics Division PhD Research Award

for his PhD thesis on Multi-scale PIC modeling of high energy density scenarios: from laboratory to astrophysics


Luke B. Fletcher

UC Davis

2007 Richard Snavely Memorial Award